NEW LONGBOAT

oIMG_0037I’d like to remind you, and especially Araneus 1 (did I get that right?) who might happen upon my site, that my voracious and even ‘bodacious’ appetite for reading everything I could get my often grubby hands on from some time before Etha Haskins put some books on that long low table between our Fourth Grade seat/desks that we were allowed to read once our assigned work, such as finding out from the big dictionary how to pronounce ‘cooperate’, was done that I just expanded that appetite in further years.

My dissertation was on Nature in The Faerie Queene, by Edmund Spenser, who knew it would be understood by all readers who knew the word ‘allegory’ as Queen Elizabeth I. And I cast my eye ever wider, Chaucer’s works sending me into great bowls of religious literature (and more, about that literature, distinguished from Holy Text by the word ‘commentary’).

So when I gather my powers, go ‘couchant’ (think of a cat ready pounce on that mouse) to state a simple fact  that my fifth novel, after my first memoir, A Syttende Mai Son (sneaking in a bit of Norsk!), is based upon a very real walking stick I shaped (cutting down the shogetsu cherry tree in Japan, peeling its bark, capping and footing it) but leaving untouched in every way except with linseed oil still have yet, in my car trunk, that single helix marvel of natural growth, you know I’m going to spring higher, do more than describe it, tell where I walk with it, and such like.

As are all my books, TSS is listed in Amazon. B&N, and so on. More fact: Underneath the title page  quote from T. Jefferson is a photo of the stick. And here are two more facts: The Ophite sect of early, early Christianity believed that the Eden serpent was, not the devil, but a forerunner of Salvation.  The Viking longboats not only sported a form of serpent high prow but their stave churches flaunted the same form.

So that’s for the blog title. Take a ride, you don’t have to accept any of Ishmael’s belief–the Jefferson quote isn ‘t for decoration. ’cause, like Ish keeps insisting in TSS, I ain’t no kind of evangelist, nohow, nosirree bob!

And I’ll be at the Decatur Book Fair, Atlanta, over Labor Day weekend–ayuh, with TSS! (and more).

PS Remember, early in this site I told you I was in the Viking longboat!

About aslak122

writing novels, 7 so far; golf (again, with a titanium left shoulder) Jean, still really lovely a wife, cooks our(mostly my) noon meal, we forage separately for breakfast and evening snack. I rotate from cereal with extra raisins, banana slices, honey to 2 soft-boiled eggs (70 seconds boil over low gas) and a bagel (whole wheat). Oh, and with the cold cereal a precursor of yogurt--cherry or blueberry., and a cup or two of green tea, Lipton's if you please! And several ounces of red wine with the noon meal, opening with one of Jean's absolutely best salads. Takes a while to tell about good food, right?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NEW LONGBOAT

  1. araneus1 says:

    excellent…….. my ancestors rode in one of those.
    Long may your words flow, and yes you got it right [not an easy handle to remember]
    .Terry

  2. Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this web
    site, and paragraph is genuinely fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting such articles.

Leave a Reply

